The Miami-Dade School Board selected a new chair and vice chair Tuesday.

Perla Hantman was voted chair and Dr. Martin Karp was voted vice chair.

"It is a true honor to be entrusted with this responsibility by my fellow School Board members.  I will continue to work closely with them to provide the best education possible for all of the students of Miami-Dade County Public Schools,” said Hantman.

Susie Castillo was newly sworn in as Board Member for District 5.