Spurs stomp Heat to win NBA Finals

San Antonio dethrones Miami after 2-year reign

Headline Goes Here

SAN ANTONIO - San Antonio overcame a sluggish start in the first quarter to embarrass the Miami Heat for a third straight game Sunday night with a 104-87 victory in Game 5 of the NBA Finals.

The Spurs outscored Miami 25-11 in the second quarter and 30-18 in the third quarter after an impressive first-quarter performance by the Heat that fooled Miami fans into thinking their team might challenge San Antonio.

In the beginning, it appeared as though the Heat could stretch the series to another game in Miami after they got off to an 8-0 start -- their longest lead in the Finals.

The Spurs, though, quickly cut a 16-point deficit to seven, trailing just 29-22 at the end of the first quarter.

San Antonio took its first lead of the game with about 4:30 left in the second half and went into the locker room at halftime ahead 47-40.

Any hope of Miami making history by becoming the first team to rally from a 3-1 deficit to win the Larry O'Brien Trophy was dashed by the end of the third quarter.

Heat star LeBron James was the game's leading scorer with 31 points, but it wasn't enough to stop the Spurs. His supporting cast in the trio now affectionately known as the "Big 3" scored just 13 (Chris Bosh) and 11 (Dwyane Wade), respectively.

San Antonio was out for payback after losing to the Heat in seven games in last year's NBA Finals.

Not even a roster change could spark the hapless Heat in this series.

In a surprise move, Ray Allen replaced the struggling Mario Chalmers in the starting lineup.

It was Allen's first start in 43 postseason games with the Heat.

Chalmers had started every game in which he's appeared with Miami over the last three seasons. The last time he played as a reserve was in the 2011 NBA Finals against the Dallas Mavericks.

He entered Game 5 averaging 3.5 points in the series, shooting just 5 for 18 from the floor. He had eight points off the bench in Game 5.

Miami endured ugly losses in its previous two games at home -- falling 107-86 in Game 4 and 111-92 in Game 3.

The victory at the AT&T Center ended Miami's two-year reign as NBA champions and gives San Antonio its fifth championship in team history. The Spurs also won titles in 1999, 2003, 2005 and 2007.

Copyright 2014 by Local10.com. The Associated Press contributed to this report. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.