wplg logo

Ask for COVID vaccine proof, face a $5,000 fine in Florida

(Craig Ruttle, Copyright The Associated Press 2021)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida will start issuing $5,000 fines to businesses, schools and government agencies that require people to show proof of a COVID-19 vaccination.

Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis signed a bill earlier this year that banned vaccine passports.

The fines will start Sept. 16 if people are asked to show proof of a vaccine.

COVID-19 infections in Florida have skyrocketed over the summer as the state has been one of the hardest-hit areas of the United States from the delta variant.