Carlos Gimenez wins Miami-Dade mayoral race

Barbara Jordan, Katherine Fernandez Rundle win races

MIAMI - Carlos Gimenez will remain Mayor of Miami-Dade County.

Miami-Dade and Broward County voters hit the polls to make their mark in the Florida Primary on Tuesday. The biggest race of the day -- the Miami-Dade County mayoral race.

Incumbent Carlos Gimenez defeated Miami-Dade County Commission Chairman Joe Martinez.

VIDEO: Michael Putney interviews Gimenez

Gimenez was elected last year after voters recalled Carlos Alvarez.

Martinez had the backing of the Miami-Dade County police union, whose political action committee was running an ad attacking Gimenez.

SPECIAL SECTON: 2012 Elections

PHOTOS: Candidates cast their ballots

Other big races

Also on the ballot was the fight to represent District 1, where Miami Gardens Mayor Shirley Gibson lost her bid to unseat long-time Commissioner Barbara Jordan.

Another big race on the ballot, Katherine Fernandez Rundle, the incumbent in the race for Miami-Dade State Attorney, defeated defense attorney Rod Vereen.

Voters also decided to keep a ban on owning pit bulls in Miami-Dade County.

Click here for complete election results.

Copyright 2012 by Post Newsweek. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.