No. 1 Gonzaga and No. 3 Oregon advance in NCAA tournament

New champion will be crowned this year

Headline Goes Here 2010 Getty Images

Half of the Final Four field is set after Saturday's games, with Gonzaga and Oregon both winning to advance from their regional finals.


No. 1 seed Gonzaga beat No. 11 Xavier 83-59 in the West Region final, while No. 3 Oregon defeated No. 1 Kansas 74-60 in the Midwest Region final.

The rest of the field will be set on Sunday, with No. 1 North Carolina and No. 2 Kentucky playing in the South Region final and No. 4 Florida and No. 7 South Carolina in the East Region final.


The Final Four gets underway on Saturday, April 1, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, with the national semifinals. The winners of those games will then face off on Monday, April 3, for the national championship.


No matter who wins, there will be a new champion. Defending national champion Villanova was eliminated in the round of 32 by Wisconsin. The last back-to-back NCAA champions was Florida in 2006 and 2007.


Distributed by LAKANA. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.