Voters in 7 Broward County municipalities cast their ballots

Coral Springs, Miramar electing mayor; Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood ask questions

By Peter Burke - Managing Editor

PEMBROKE PARK, Fla. - Voters in seven Broward County municipalities will head to the polls Tuesday.

While voters in Miramar will decide to whether to re-elect Mayor Wayne Messam, voters in Coral Springs will cast their ballots in a special election to elect a new mayor after former Mayor Skip Campbell died in office last October at the age of 69.

Two of the Coral Springs mayoral candidates -- Scott Brook and Vincent Boccard -- have previously served as mayor. Kurt Gardner and Nancy Metayer are political newcomers.

Fort Lauderdale and Hollywood are holding special elections to pass a series of bond referendums.

In Fort Lauderdale, the city is asking voters to approve a $100 million bond for a new police headquarters and a $200 million bond to add or improve parks.

In Hollywood, the city is asking voters to approve three bond referendums -- $78 million for a new police headquarters; $64 million for parks, golf courses and cultural facilities; and $23 million for neighborhood improvements.

Voters in Coconut Creek, Deerfield Beach, Miramar and Pembroke Park will also elect new commissioners.

Election results will be posted on after the polls close at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2019 by WPLG - All rights reserved.