Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

Rookie manager guided Arizona to wild-card berth


Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo won National League Manager of the Year honors Tuesday.

Lovullo received 18 of the 30 first-place votes in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America and five second-place and six third-place votes for a total of 111 points to beat out Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who received five first-place votes and a total of 55 points.

Colorado Rockies manager Bud Black finished third with 43 points.

Milwaukee Brewers manager Craig Counsell (33) was fourth, followed by former Washington Nationals manager Dusty Baker (25) and Joe Maddon (3) of the Chicago Cubs. 

Lovullo guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 record in his first season as a major-league manager. That represented a 24-game improvement over the team's record of 69-93 in 2016.

It was good enough for second place in the National League West behind the MLB-best Los Angeles Dodgers and a wild-card spot.

Arizona beat the Colorado Rockies 11-8 in the wild-card game and then were swept by the Dodgers in the National League Division Series.