Jim Larranaga wins ACC coach of year award

Durand Scott wins ACC defense player of year award

Headline Goes Here

MIAMI - Miami Hurricanes coach Jim Larranaga was the overwhelming choice as the Atlantic Coast Conference's coach of the year.

Larranaga, Miami's 63-year-old second-year coach, won for guiding the Hurricanes (24-6, 15-3) to their first outright ACC regular-season championship and the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament that begins Thursday in Greensboro.

They won their first 13 league games as part of a school-record 14-game winning streak.

He received 75 votes while Duke's Mike Krzyzewski and North Carolina's Roy Williams received one vote apiece from members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

"Although being coach of the year is a great honor, especially being chosen amongst a host of great coaches in the ACC, this is really a team honor," Larranaga said. "The success of a coach is based on the success of his team, and I've got great players and they're a real joy to be around."

Erick Green named player of the year

Virginia Tech's Erick Green is the Atlantic Coast Conference's player of the year.

The league announced its individual award winners Tuesday following voting by 77 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

READ: ACC award list

Boston College's Olivier Hanlan won the rookie of the year award and Miami's Durand Scott is the league's defensive player of the year.

Green received 38 votes to 23 for Miami guard Shane Larkin and 12 for Duke big man Mason Plumlee.

Green joins Maryland's Len Bias in 1986 as the ACC's only players of the year to come from teams with losing conference records.

The Hokies finished last in the league with a 4-14 record. Green leads the nation by averaging 25.4 points.

Hanlan received 43 votes for the rookie award after leading all ACC freshmen with a 14.6-point scoring average. He was BC's leading scorer in conference games, averaging 15.7 points against ACC competition.

Duke's Rasheed Sulaimon received 15 votes while 12 votes went to North Carolina State's T.J. Warren.

Scott won the defensive award with 23 votes, two more than Larkin. Scott ranked third in the league with an average of 1.6 steals. Florida State's Michael Snaer got seven votes and Plumlee had six.

Copyright 2013 by Local10.com. The Associated Press contributed to this report. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.