Officials tour U.S. Post Office in Opa-locka ahead of District 20 election

Four candidates are competing in the Jan. 11 special election to become the new U.S. House of Representative for District 20.

OPA-LOCKA, Fla. – Broward County Supervisor of Elections Joe Scott and Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz toured the U.S. Post Office in Opa-locka on Monday — ahead of the special general election on Tuesday.

Six candidates are competing to become the new U.S. House Representative for District 20. The late Alcee Hastings assumed office on Jan. 3, 1993. He served until his death on April 6, 2021.

Florida Congressional District 20 (Copyright 2020 by WPLG - All rights reserved.)

Scott said the Nov. 2 Democratic primary was a tight race partially because Florida law doesn’t allow ballots to be counted unless these are delivered to the Broward Supervisor of Elections’ office on time.

“We received 287 ballots that were postmarked before the date of the election, hundreds of ballots left uncounted,” Scott said.

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick won the candidacy with a difference of only five votes. Jason Mariner is the Republican candidate. The others are Mike ter Maat, Jim Flynn, Leonard Serratore, and Shelley Fain.

“We were asking about what steps they’ve taken to try to get to the bottom of how it happened,” said Wasserman Shultz, who sits on the congressional committee that oversees the USPS.

The registration deadline was Dec. 13. Polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday. The winner will be elected to a two-year term.

This Week In South Florida: Mariner

Early voting ends Sunday in Broward and Palm Beach Counties in the race for congress in the 20th District.

This Week In South Florida: Cherfilus-McCormick

The race for the Democratic nomination for South Florida’s District 20 seat was decided by just five voters.

About the Authors:

Saira Anwer joined the Local 10 News team in July 2018. Saira is two-time Emmy-nominated reporter and comes to South Florida from Madison, Wisconsin, where she was working as a reporter and anchor.

The Emmy Award-winning journalist joined the Local 10 News team in 2013. She wrote for the Miami Herald for more than 9 years and won a Green Eyeshade Award.