Jared Moskowitz wins race for Florida’s 23rd Congressional District, replacing Ted Deutch

Florida’s 23rd Congressional District is going to have a new representative in 2023.

BROWARD COUNTY, Fla. – Florida’s 23rd Congressional District is going to have a new representative in 2023.

That’s because longtime Rep. Ted Deutch chose not to run for reelection, instead taking on a new career outside of politics as the CEO of the American Jewish Committee.

Running for his seat was Democrat Jared Moskowitz and Republican Joe Budd, along with no-party candidates Christine Scott and Mark Napier.

The race was called early Tuesday evening for Moskowitz, who had an extensive lead over Budd with more than half of precincts reporting.

“I am going to Washington as a Democrat, but I am going to get things done, and I will work with anybody who wants to help the American people and make progress,” Moskowitz said.

Moskowitz is Florida’s former Director of Emergency Management and recently has sat on the Broward County Commission. He was appointed to both of those roles by Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis.

“It would not be right to have this party in the middle of a hurricane. It feels like it was meant to be,” Moskowitz said Tuesday night, as South Florida remains under storm watches due to the looming threat of Tropical Storm Nicole.

Joe Budd is the president of a group in Palm Beach County called the Cub 45 USA, which was inspired by former President Donald Trump. His website calls it the “The largest “Trump Club” in the nation with meeting attendance often exceeding 2,000 people.”

The district covers much of northern Broward County and part of southern Palm Beach County. It is considered heavily Democratic and as such, Moskowitz is believed to be a favorite to win the congressional seat.




Jared Moskowitz(D)
Joe Budd(R)
Christine Scott
Mark Napier
100% of Precincts Reporting

(185 / 185)

About the Author:

David Dwork joined the WPLG Local 10 News team in August 2019. Born and raised in Miami-Dade County, David has covered South Florida sports since 2007.