FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Whether your child will be returning to the classroom in person this fall or not, Florida’s back-to-school sales tax holiday will allow you to save some money this weekend.
The three-day event runs Aug. 7-9.
Clothing, footwear and certain accessories that sell for $60 or less will be exempt from sale tax, as will be school supplies $15 and under and the first $1,000 of the sales price of personal computers and certain computer-related accessories.
There are some exceptions, so check the full list at the bottom of this page. The sales tax holiday was passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Ron DeSantis.
The school districts in Broward and Miami-Dade County have already announced that they’ll be beginning with distance learning and then hope to reassess the possibility of some classroom instruction in early October.
DeSantis has said he feels every parent in Florida should have the option of sending their children to school in-person or virtually this fall, which runs counter to the advice of a leading South Florida infectious disease expert.
See the full details for the sales tax holiday below: