Miami-Dade County Public Schools names 2024 Teacher of the Year

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, Fla. – A fifth-grade science and social studies teacher at Phyllis Ruth Miller Elementary School has been named the 2024 Francisco R. Walker Miami-Dade County Teacher of the Year.

Don Clerveaux was named during a ceremony held Tuesday night. Clerveaux says he “connects with students’ vulnerability and concerns to conquer challenges.”

As a science teacher, Clerveaux has motivated his fellow teachers to become certified to take their students to the Everglades. He has worked for Miami-Dade Public Schools for nine years.

Kendall Toyota will gift Clerveaux with the keys to a new car.

About the Author:

Veronica Crespo writes for and also oversees the Español section of the website. Born and raised in Miami, she graduated from the University of Miami, where she studied broadcast journalism and Spanish.