Legendary Canes linebacker Dan Morgan named to CFB Hall of Fame

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami is sending another member to the college football Hall of Fame.

Linebacker Dan Morgan has been named to the 2021 Class.

Morgan is the first player in history to sweep the three major defensive awards in one season. He is Miami’s all-time leading tackler with 532. He was a unanimous First Team All-American in 2000, winning the Bednarik, Butkus, and Nagurski Awards.

Morgan led Miami to three top-20 finishes and three straight postseason wins.

Morgan’s 45 straight starts were a school record at the time and he was the first player in Hurricanes history to post 100 or more tackles every season of his career.

In 2001, Morgan was the 11th overall pick in the draft.

He played for Carolina from 2001-2007.

In 2004, Morgan was a Pro Bowl selection and led the Panthers to an appearance in the Super Bowl.

Currently, Morgan is an executive with the Buffalo Bills.

Morgan is the 13th Hurricane to enshrined.

He joins Bennie Blades (2006), Don Bosseler (1990), Dennis Erickson (2019), Andy Gustafson (1985), Jack Harding (1980), Ted Hendricks (1987), Jimmy Johnson (2012), Russell Maryland (2011), Ed Reed (2018), Vinny Testaverde (2013), Gino Torretta (2009), and Arnold Tucker (2008).

About the Author: