Broward County names Teacher, Principal of the Year

Collins Elementary teacher, Panther Run Elementary principal take top prize


BROWARD COUNTY, Fla. – Broward County Public Schools announced its Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year award winners Wednesday night.  

Eleanna Hurst, a third-grade teacher at Collins Elementary School took the Teacher of the Year prize, and Panther Run Elementary School principal Elaine Saef won the Principal of the Year award.

"Sometimes I'm the only person that may encourage students to become anything that they want to become," Hurst said in a media release. "Teaching offers the opportunity to be that spark to so many students."

The release said her mission is to develop well-rounded problem-solvers and critical thinkers.

"Hurst is a phenomenal teacher and a tremendous asset to our school," Tracy Jackson, who is the school’s principal, said in a media release.

Saef, who is known for creating and implementing programs and activities to inspire her students, said in a release that she views her role as one of removing barriers.

Her goal is to develop an “inclusive school environment” and a positive school culture that puts students first, emphasizes academics, and builds teachers' trust and adaptability.

In addition to Hurst and Saef, Patricia Brown of Coral Springs High School won Assistant Principal of the Year and Terri Cainelli, a secretary at Seminole Middle School, won Employee of the Year.