LeBron officially named MVP

Heat star wins honor for 4th time


MIAMI – LeBron James has officially been named the NBA's Most Valuable Player.

This is his second straight MVP.

LeBron has now won the award four times in the past five years.

The only players to win at least four regular season MVP awards are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, Bill Russell, and Wilt Chamberlain.

James received 120 of the 121 first-place votes.

The only other person to receive a vote was Carmelo Anthony.

James led the Heat to a 66-16 record, including a 27-game winning streak.

He averaged 26.8 point, 8 rebounds, and 7.3 assists per game.

James scored 2,036 points this season.

James received the player of the month award five times.

James said, "I try to be the best player on the court, every single night, when I step out onto the floor."

James thanked his family including his mother, his fiance, and his future in-laws.

James also thanked his teammates, the Heat organization, and the voters.

James specifically credited his teammates, "Without those guys, this trophy isn't possible."