Alberto M. Carvalho wins national Superintendent of the Year

Carvalho honored in Nashville, Tennessee

From left to right: Steve Bittel, Leslie Miller Saiontz, Tabitha Fazzino, Board Chair Perla Tabares Hantman, Alberto M. Carvalho, Board Member Martin Karp, Chief Academic Officer Marie Izquierdo, City Year Executive Director Saif Ishoof, Photo courtesy of Miami-Dade Schools.

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Miami-Dade Superintendent of Schools Alberto M. Carvalho has won the national Superintendent of the Year award.

Carvalho traveled to Tennessee to attend the national conference of AASA.

The School Superintendents Association's conference was held at the Nashville Music City Convention Center on Thursday.

In December, Carvalho was named Florida's Superintendent of the Year by the Florida Association of District School Superintendents.