INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - If politicians in one state have their way, drivers caught smoking with children in their car would be fined $1,000 for a first offense.
Indiana lawmakers have proposed a bill that would prohibit smoking in the car with a child under the age of six, reports WXIN. The hefty fine would be classified as a Class B infraction.
Senate Bill No. 34 would allow for a Class A infraction and a whopping $10,000 fine if a third offense occured within the same 12-month period.
Indiana would be the ninth state in the country to adopt some form of penalty for smoking in a vehicle with children present.
Copyright 2019 by WPLG Local10.com - All rights reserved.