It’s been more than 20 years since the regular-season MVP has done this in the Super Bowl

Only 9 MVPs have gone on to win the big game

Left: Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers drops back to pass in the first quarter against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers during the NFC Championship game on Jan. 24, 2021 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Right: Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs throws a pass in the first half against the Buffalo Bills during the AFC Championship game on Jan. 24, 2021 in Kansas City, Missouri. (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images) (Getty Images)

As America collectively gets ramped up for Super Bowl LV, we’re also waiting to hear who will be named MVP of the regular season.

Experts’ top two picks are Green Bay Packers’ Aaron Rodgers and Kansas City Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes.

Regardless of who wins the honor, there seems to be somewhat of a curse, if you will (actually, that’s how some people are referring to the dilemma), when it comes to MVPs and the Super Bowl games. That is, these MVPs don’t go on to win a Super Bowl in the same season -- or at least, they haven’t since the ‘90s.

In fact, the last regular-season MVP to win a Super Bowl that year was Rams quarterback Kurt Warner in the 1999 season.

In only eight other seasons did the MVP go on to win the Super Bowl in the same season, according to Yahoo Sports:

  • Packers quarterback Bart Starr in 1966
  • Steelers quarterback Terry Bradshaw in 1978
  • Washington kicker Mark Moseley in 1982
  • Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor in 1986
  • 49ers quarterback Joe Montana in 1989
  • Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith in 1993
  • 49ers quarterback Steve Young in 1994
  • Packers quarterback Brett Favre in 1996

In case you’re wondering, listed the following players as MVP contenders for this year:

  • Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry
  • Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen
  • New Orleans Saints running back Alvin Kamara
  • Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady
  • Pittsburgh Steelers offensive linebacker T.J. Watt
  • Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald
  • Green Bay Packers wide receiver Davante Adams

About the Author: