Chris Bosh first of Heat’s Big Three to get Pro Basketball Hall of Fame nod

Bosh was announced as part of the Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2021

Chris Bosh, LeBron James and Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat look on during their game against the Dallas Mavericks on November 27, 2010 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. (Layne Murdoch, 2010 Getty Images)

MIAMI – Former Miami Heat forward Chris Bosh is heading to the Hall of Fame.

Sunday morning the 2021 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class was announced, and Bosh was among those being inducted.

“Chris Bosh has been one of the all-time greats during his career and has earned his place in the Hall of Fame,” Heat President Pat Riley said in a statement released by the team. “He is highly decorated and so deserving. We are proud that he is part of the Heat family and we congratulate him.”

Also in this year’s class are players Chris Webber, Ben Wallace and Paul Pierce, and coaches Rick Adelman, Jay Wright and Bill Russell, as well as WNBA players Yolanda Griffith and Lauren Jackson.

Bosh played 893 games over 13 seasons in the NBA before his career was cut short due to a blood clotting condition. He finished averaging 19.2 points and 8.5 rebounds on 49% shooting.

He retired a two-time NBA Champion, winning titles with the Heat during the Big Three era when he teamed up with LeBron James and Dwyane Wade.

“Chris Bosh was the ultimate leader, teammate and winner,” Heat Head Coach Erik Spoelstra said in a statement. “He was a huge part of our success and always did it with real class, selflessness and professionalism. His accomplishments on the court earned him this great honor, but he is also a Hall of Fame quality person. I am so happy for Chris, Adrienne and their family.”

Bosh played six seasons in Miami.

He was the fourth overall pick in the 2003 NBA Draft, the same year that James and Wade were selected first and fifth, respectively.

About the Author:

David Dwork joined the WPLG Local 10 News team in August 2019. Born and raised in Miami-Dade County, David has covered South Florida sports since 2007.