Local10.com 2018 voter information guide

By Peter Burke - Local10.com Managing Editor

Local10.com wants to make it easy for you to register to vote in this important election year.

Below is a county-by-county guide for information on how to register, where to vote and what you'll need to know about the democratic process.

Am I eligible to vote?

The short answer is, most likely, yes, provided you meet a few basic requirements.

In order to register to vote, you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States of America (a lawful permanent resident is not a U.S. citizen for registration and voting purposes)
  • Be a Florida resident
  • Be at least 18 years old (although you may preregister if you are 16)
  • Not have been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having had your voting rights restored
  • Not have been convicted of a felony in Florida, or any other state, without your civil rights having been restored
  • Provide your current and valid Florida driver's license number or Florida identification card number. If you do not have a current and valid Florida driver's license number or Florida identification card, you must provide the last four digits of your Social Security number. If you do not have any of the above, check the appropriate box provided on the voter registration application.


Broward County

Sample Ballots

Find Your Precinct

Early-Voting Locations


Miami-Dade County

Sample Ballots

Find Your Precinct

Early-Voting Locations


Monroe County

Sample Ballots

Find Your Precinct

Early-Voting Locations


Palm Beach County

Sample Ballots

Find Your Precinct

Early-Voting Locations


Important Dates

July 14: Last day to submit absentee ballots for primary election

July 30: Last day to register for primary election

Aug. 13-25: Early voting period for primary election

Aug. 28: Primary election

Sept. 22: Last day to submit absentee ballots for general election

Oct. 9: Last day to register for general election

Oct. 22-Nov. 3: Early voting period for general election

Nov. 6: General election


Important Races


Republican Gubernatorial Candidates

Don Baldauf, political activist

Ron DeSantis, current U.S. representative for 6th Congressional District of Florida

Timothy Devine, write-in candidate for governor in 2014

Bob Langford, retired Tallahassee attorney

John Joseph Mercadante, Miami businessman

Bruce Nathan, pediatric therapist who ran as independent candidate for U.S. Senate in 2016

Adam Putnam, Florida Agriculture Commissioner

Bob White, Polk County resident and founder of Liberty Catalyst Fund


Democratic Gubernatorial Candidates

Andrew Gillum, Tallahassee Mayor

Gwen Graham, former U.S. representative and daughter of former Gov. Bob Graham

Jeff Greene, Palm Beach billionaire who lost 2010 primary for U.S. Senate

Chris King, Orlando businessman and founder of Elevation Financial Group

Philip Levine, former Miami Beach Mayor

Alex Lundmark, Vero Beach businessman

John Wetherbee, Jensen Beach business owner and former mechanical engineer


U.S. Senate

Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente, Republican

Bill Nelson, Democrat *

Rick Scott, Republican and current Florida Governor


U.S. House District 22

Ted Deutch, Democrat *

Jeff Fandl, Democrat

Nicolas Kimaz, Republican

Javier "Javi" Manjarres, Republican

Eddison Walters, Republican


U.S. House District 23

Tim Canova, Independent

Don Endriss, Independent

Joseph "Joe" Kaufman, Republican

Carlos J. Reyes, Republican

Carla Spalding, Republican

Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Democrat *


U.S. House District 24

Ricardo De La Fuente, Democrat

Frederica Wilson, Democrat *


U.S. House District 25

Mary Barzee Flores, Democrat

Mario Diaz-Balart, Republican *


U.S. House District 26

Carlos Curbelo, Republican *

Souraya Faas, Republican

Demetries Andrew Grimes, Democrat

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Democrat


U.S. House District 27

Elizabeth Adadi, Republican

Bruno Barreiro, Republican

Angie Chirino, Republican

Kristen Rosen Gonzalez, Democrat

Matt Haggman, Democrat

Michael A. Hepburn, Democrat

Mayra Joli, Independent

Stephen Marks, Republican

Michael Ohevzion, Republican

Maria Peiro, Republican

David Richardson, Democrat

Bettina Aguilera Rodriguez, Republican

Maria Elvira Salazar, Republican

Donna Shalala, Democrat

Gina Sosa, Republican


Attorney General

Ashley Moody, Republican

Sean Shaw, Democrat

Frank White, Republican


Chief Financial Officer

Richard Paul Dembinsky, write-in candidate

Jimmy Patronis, Republican *

Jeremy Ring, Democrat


Agriculture Commissioner

Matt Caldwell, Republican

Nicole "Nikki" Fried, Democrat

Denise Grimsley, Republican

Mike McCalister, Republican

Roy David Walker, Democrat


* denotes all incumbent candidates


Click here for complete candidate listings for the 2018 primary and general elections.

Copyright 2018 by WPLG Local10.com - All rights reserved.